Board of Directors

The Sunshine Coast Regional District (SCRD) Board is made up of nine directors, one from each Electoral Area and those appointed by the member municipalities. You can find out more about individual directors here.

Electoral Area Directors are elected for a four-year term; and Municipal Directors from the Town of Gibsons, the District of Sechelt, and shíshálh Nation Government District, are appointed by their councils.  

Board meetings are held twice a month and are open to the public. 

Every November, a Chair and Vice-Chair are elected from among the nine Directors. The Chair is then responsible for selecting the Chairs for the Standing Committees of the Board.

For certain issues, including the budget, a weighted vote is used. This means that the votes for each Director are weighted depending on the population they are representing. Each Director is entitled to one vote for 2,000 people in their area, based on the most recent census data.